WSJT-X and Windows XP

As mentioned in my post about my first experiences with WSJT-X and JT65/JT9, I had issues getting any version other than 1.1 to successfully decode. A bit more searching and some playing around last night and I now have successfully decoded with 1.2.1 and 1.3 on Windows XP.

My solution in the end was to simply open up wsjtx.ini in the install directory, and then add the following lines at the very end:

[Tune]
Audio\DisableInputResampling=true

This (I understand) has the effect of returning theĀ sampling methods back to what was in version 1.1 – which essentially uses 12kHz sampling rather than 48kHz. There is another option however this is sound card driver specific, and that’s to set the default sampling rate (via the control panel, etc.) to 48kHz. However, for my sound card (Audigy 4) I was unable to find this setting so went with the above solution.

I hope this helps others who may have been stumbling on this. Albeit, I do now realise it’s documented in two places:

  • The above solution is in the manual’s FAQ section – however currently the formatting is a bit askew in the manual; and
  • The details about making sure your sound cards default sampling is set to 48kHz is specified in the Windows install instructions in the manual.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

