Improved NOAA-19 Reception

Improved NOAA-19 Reception

This week, my ebay ordered RTL2832U based USB digital TV receiver dongle arrived! I’ve been working through a bit of a cold, but that wasn’t going to stop me going down to the garage and having a play. I was too excited at the possibilities!

With no time at all I had my RTL-SDR solution up and running with SDR#. All that was needed was a custom driver install and then a couple of very minor mods to SDR# and all was working. Other than that, I connected the antenna socket out via my access panel to the Diamond X-50 on the roof. Before I knew I had local WFM radio stations playing on my computer.

The main purpose though for even trying all this, was the hope that it’d improve on my weather satellite reception as per my previous attempt. My thinking was that the main limiting factor was the narrow bandwidth of my receiver.

With using an SDR setup, I should be able to have as wide a bandwidth as needed (and more if wanted). However it required one extra bit of software, and that was a virtual audio cable to route the audio out of the SDR software into the audio in of WxtoImg. For this I chose VB-Audio Virtual Cable. It’s free and couldn’t be easier to use.

NOAA-19 @ 0446 UTC - Both Channels

NOAA-19 @ 0446 UTC – Both Channels

After getting past some recurring computer freezes (think I need to rebuild my PC) I was able to play with an initial pass to play with some settings. But before even changing anything things were looking drastically different. Then on turning the gain in SDR# up full and increasing the AF Level slightly things were looking (to my eye) perfect!

So with all trimmed and ready to go, I  keenly awaited 0446UTC for the next NOAA-19 pass. The results were amazing – the best by a long shot that I’ve every received. These can be seen in the first NOAA-19 image with both channels,  and you’ll notice only a few spots of noise which I believe was mainly due to physical obstruction.

To consider this was achieved with essentially a $25 receiver and some free software is amazing. Considering further I’m still just using the Diamond X-50 and haven’t even bothered to consider the circular polarisation. And further, this was from the West were I do have far less of a view – South/East is the preferred approach.

With that success, what now? Well, I’ll keep trying some more receives (hopefully my PC will stop freezing) and I might try some of the other SDR# features/plugins so that I can attempt to switch frequency for each of the three active NOAA satellites. That way I can aim for a full set of images!

Further, I’m also interested to see how some of the other SDR software offerings go and then I can also start to look at all the other possible items to receive out there – considering this dongle (with the FC0013 chip) covers from just below 30MHz to just up over 1Ghz. So many options! Oh, and then there’s the idea of an upconverter for all the offerings below 30MHz!

3 thoughts on “Improved NOAA-19 Reception

  1. Read your article on the dongle. I have a Fun cube dongle but I am having probs getting any gain out of it. I had the if gain up as high as I can without distortion taking place but signal strength on HF is useless. I am using the Bonito active antenna. local FM comes in fine. Any thoughts.

    Arthur
    G7IKG

    • Hi Arthur,

      Unfortunately I’ve not had the chance to play with a Funcube Dongle yet, so I’ not sure if I can offer any advice. May be better have a chat with the funcube users – or indeed the users of whatever software you’re using.

      Sorry I can’t be of more assistance. Good luck!

      Ian
      VK7IS

Leave a Reply

