Code Practice Oscillator

Work has begun on a code practice oscillator. There's a million and one plans for them out there, but once done I'll share my design too.

For now though, some photos (sorry, iPhone again) of the enclosure and interface. Basically, I wanted to do something different by using a simple plastic container from the supermarket. I thought a nice round one would fit the kind of thing I was after.

A basic run down of the design I have to mind (and thereby the controls on my 'enclosure' is):
  • NE555 based
  • Volume control
  • Tone control (covering about 600Hz to 1000Hz)
  • 9V battery
  • Built in speaker
  • Output switchable from speaker to 3.5mm socket (so that it can be easily plugged into a computer for recording and measuring of elements, as well as possible use of headphones)
  • Key hooked into power line (so no on/off switch required – but concerned how this may affect oscillation, we'll see)
  • A capacitor shunting the output to move from a square wave towards a sine wave
Hopefully I can get this done within the next week or so, but I'm really short on time at the moment. I'll let you know if I do. 😉

Photo_1Photo_2Photo_3

Leave a Reply

