Weather Satellites

Well, I think it's fair to say I'm pretty hooked on satellites at the moment. After my more or less successful QSO via AO-51 last night, I'm now looking into weather satellites and how you receive their data – especially the images, that'd be cool.

For now I'm focusing on the NOAA satellites and so here are some pages for your enjoyment:
I'm even so excited I've looked at Azimuth/Elevation rotators, but then the price made me snap out of it and reminded me just to get/build a handheld beam for now. 🙂 (But imagine having a setup with a Az/El rotator hooked up to you computer and automatically controlled with the same computer controlling your radio to accommodate doppler effect!!)

2 thoughts on “Weather Satellites

  1. Been reading your blog where do you get the time ? I started investigating ‘Birds" about two weeks ago not a thing so far. Also Joined AMSAT-VK, and Ham Radio Nation (recomended on last Sunday WIA News. From your post I have looked into Weather Birds, all I can say is it’s very interesting, downloaded WXtoIMG and Orbitron as well. Free software is great to look at. Cheers Stan

  2. G'day Stan,<div><br></div><div>Where do I get the time… Ummm, probably at the expense of doing many other things of interest – and maybe even my license upgrade study. :)</div><div><br></div><div>Yup, the wx birds are very exciting. I've just posted up details of my efforts of the week-end. I'm now on the edge of deciding whether to pursue it further, or just focus on the hamsats!</div> <div><br></div><div>I'm not aware of <a href="http://www.stoff.pl/">Orbitron</a&gt; though, so I might have a read. As mentioned on the Thursday net I also suggest you have a look at <a href="http://gpredict.oz9aec.net/">gpredict</a&gt;. It's the one I currently constantly use to see where the weather and amateur birds are at and it's OpenSource and I use it on both Linux and Windows.</div> <div><br></div><div>Good luck with the birds mate, hopefully we might make a contact some time – might have to schedule one up.</div><div><br></div><div>Cheers,</div><div>VK1FOTO<br><br></div>

Leave a Reply

