Inaugural VK1 70cm FM Lunchtime Net

Today we had the first ever VK1 70cm FM Lunchtime Net – a distant cousin of the 2m variety. Although not intended to be a regular feature, I do plan to do it again now and then.

We had a nice small group of 4, with all hearing each other well except for VK2TCC who was mobile and only had full contact with VK1WJ. (Although I almost picked him out of the noise a couple of times – hence a 1/1.)

The net was on 434MHz but we soon found the noise to be too annoying and QSY'd to 433.975MHz.

I was initially planning to take my 11el beam up for this, but thought it was over kill. But now seeing the signal quality (and distribution of stations) I plan to next time take it with me and see how it goes. (After all, compared to my 10el 2m beam it is fairly quick to setup.)

Thanks for all who joined in, hopefully we'll do it again soon – maybe after my wedding.

(Oh, and I've not forgotten the log from last week's Thursday net, just need time to do it.)
2 thoughts on “Inaugural VK1 70cm FM Lunchtime Net

  1. Thanks Ian for organising and running this. Due to the rather cheap nature of my handheld, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I have never done any simplex work above HF. I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to hear Murray, and your final over I actually heard and understood about 50% of it. I’m considering throwing some money towards a proper 70cm tuned antenna for the handheld in the expectation that that will make a noticeable difference – it currently has the factory standard broadband (350-490MHz) whip on it.ConradVK2TCC

  2. G'day Conrad,<div><br></div><div>Yes, many seem to find themselves surprised at just what's possible with simplex VHF and above – and at that, we're only using FM.</div><div><br></div><div>The idea of upgrading your antenna is definitely a winner, and if you do end up with another let me know and I'll organise another 70cm Net ASAP for you to try and compare both antennas. On the 2m Net we often have people swapping between antennas and power settings to see the difference – on there we have VK1SV even using just 50mW and yet most people still have full contact with him (a lot due to him trying to get as high as possible).</div> <div><br></div><div>Also on the 2m Net, it seems there is a good number of people who have made themselves Slim Jims – so maybe that could be an option for you. They seem to make them, place them up high in a tree and then a bit of coax back to the hand held. Far cheaper than anything you'd buy, yet performance definitely workable and better than most stock rubber duckys with minimal gain.</div> <div><br></div><div>Anyway, let me know how you get on and when you're set we should definitely do another 70cm Net to allow some testing/experimentation.</div><div><br></div><div>Cheers,</div><div>VK1FOTO</div>

Leave a Reply

