I’ll be Hilltopping this Sunday (17th October) Morning

Alright, so it seems I suddenly have a gap of spare time this week-end (Sunday, 17th October specifically). Therefore, I’m going to head up Mt. Stromlo (QF44mq) with my 2m/70cm SSB gear for some early morning action. This will be the first time I try to deploy this gear (away from my back yard) so I’m pretty excited to see how I go.

I’m hoping to head up around 0700hrs local time (UTC+11hrs) and be on air by 0800hrs. I’ll hang around to a bit after 0900hrs and then start pulling everything down.

I plan to be operating with the following antenna configuration:
– 4m mast (pole)
– 10el 2mx beam (Cushcraft A14810S)
– 11el 70cm beam (Cushcraft A43011S)
– RG213 and the like cables and a duplexer

For the transciever I will rely on my trusty Yaesu FT-817ND pumping out a huge 5W (QRP).

I’ll be mainly listening on 144.200MHz and looking for QSYs up onto 70cm. šŸ™‚

I hope to catch some of you there. Wish me luck!
Leave a Reply

