Why I’m still an F call

I've been asked a few times when am I upgrading my license (after all, I think I've almost had my license 3 years), so I thought I might do a post about it.

The simple answer is, I'm keen to upgrade my license but I currently don't have time to do the study. I was planning to upgrade this year (2010), however early on I got engaged and the wedding is in November. So all the activities then associated with a wedding meant no time available to study.

Therefore, my plan now is to upgrade in 2011. I'm hoping I can get this done early in the year and maybe even utilise some part of my Christmas leave to get the study done.

There are a few things I really look forward to after upgrading:
– Having access to more power (seems really valuable for playing with VHF and above);
– Ability to play with digital modes (my background is computing, so this really appeals);
– Ability to build my own transmitters (beacons sound like fun, as do really simple SSB transcievers); and
– Availability of more bands (6m sounds very interesting as do 23cm and above).

So there you have it. I'm keen to upgrade; hopefully next year; and there are several things prompting me to do so. 🙂
2 thoughts on “Why I’m still an F call

  1. Hi Peter,<div><br></div><div>hahaha, nicely done. 🙂 Indeed, I really hope to go for it soon as a lot of reading is happening at the moment and there are so many things I'd like to try. :)</div><div><br></div><div>Cheers,</div> <div>VK1FOTO<br><br></div>

Leave a Reply

